Northern Cape 


Departmental Situation Analysis

The Department of Social Development, Northern Cape Province, has the mandate to develop therapeutic support networks based on the service needs of the various vulnerable groups i.e children and people with disabilities, children living and working on the street, R0 income families, foster parents catering for population of 1,2 million people.

The service delivery areas are vast and sparsely populated. It is constituted of five districts (5) namely Frances Baard, Pixley ka Seme, Namakwa, ZF Mgcawu and John Taolo Gaetsewe, with 5 district municipalities, 27 local municipalities with a Provincial Office responsible for oversight, monitoring, evaluation and compliance to various pieces of legislature, as well as financial and performance reporting.

Over the years, the Department has established District offices managed by District Directors. In this regard, District offices are the implementing agents of service delivery being accountable for a range of decentralized functions e.g. the management of the service delivery budget.

In addition, district offices are being strengthened with the existing satellite offices within communities to increase access of services to the people.

The working arrangements within the Department of Social Development makes provision for the availability of Social Workers, Social Auxiliary Workers and Community Development Workers to enable immediate service delivery to communities.

The range of social service professionals have also been expanded to include trained child and youth care workers, home community based caregivers and volunteers in the form of services such as Isibindi, Home- & Community-Based Care, Isolabantwana, Neighbour-helping-Neighbour within communities.

Inclusive of the Satellite offices within communities, the social infrastructure include, Youth Service Centres (25), Community Nutrition Development Centres (141) Old Age Homes (24), Children’s Homes (11), Secure Care Centres (4), Protective Workshops (7), and Residential facilities (3) for People with Disabilities, Community-based Service Sentres for Older Persons (51 ) and Non-Profit Organizations (25) providing services to children and families.

Given the existing service delivery footprint of the Department, the vision  of the National Development Plan 2030, Outcome 13, the demographic picture for service delivery would improve to include services that meet the service needs of all vulnerable groups and that the package of services achieve the desired outcome.


The Northern Cape is divided into five district municipalities and further subdivided into 26 local municipalities.

Northern Cape Municipalities

  1. Frances Baard District Municipalitiy

    • Dikgatlong Local Municipality {Barkly West, Delportshoop, Windsorton}

    • Magareng Local Municipality {Warrenton}

    • Phokwane Local Municipality {Hartswater, Jan Kempdorp, Pampierstad}

    • Sol Plaatje Local Municipality {Kimberley, Ritchie}

  2. John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipalitiy

    • Ga-Segonyana Local Municipality {Bankhara-Bodulong, Kuruman, Mothibistad}

    • Gamagara Local Municipality {Deben, Kathu, Olifantshoek}

    • Joe Morolong Local Municipality {Hotazel, Santoy, Van Zylsrus}

  3. Namakwa District Municipalitiy

    • Hantam Local Municipality {Brandvlei, Calvinia, Loeriesfontein, Middelpos, Nieuwoudtville, Onderste Doorns}

    • Kamiesberg Local Municipality {Garagams, Garies, Hondeklip Bay, Kamieskroon, Koingnaas, Kheis, Klipfontein, Leliefontein, Rooifontein, Spoegrivier, Tweerivier, Wolfhok}

    • Karoo Hoogland Local Municipality {Fraserburg, Sutherland, Williston}

    • Khai-Ma Local Municipality {Aggeneys, Onseepkans, Melkbosrand, Viljoensrand, Pella, Witbank, Pofadder}

    • Nama Khoi Local Municipality {Bulletrap, Carolusberg, Concordia, Kleinzee, Komaggas, Nababeep, O'Kiep, Springbok, Steinkopf}

    • Richtersveld Local Municipality {Alexander Bay, Eksteensfontein, Kuboes, Port Nolloth, Richtersveld, Sanddrift}

  4. Pixley Ka Seme District Municipalitiy

    • Emthanjeni Local Municipality {Britstown, Burgerville, De Aar, Griesenkraal, Hanover}

    • Kareeberg Local Municipality {Carnarvon, Vanwyksvlei, Vosburg}

    • Renosterberg Local Municipality {Petrusville, Philipstown, Van der Kloof}

    • Siyancuma Local Municipality {Campbell, Douglas, Griekwastad, Riet River, Schmidtsdrif}

    • Siyathemba Local Municipality {Copperton, Marydale, Niekerkshoop, Prieska}

    • Thembelihle Local Municipality {Hopetown, Strydenburg}

    • Ubuntu Local Municipality {Hutchinson, Loxton, Richmond, Victoria West}

    • Umsobomvu Local Municipality {Colesberg, Norvalspont, Noupoort}

  5. ZF Mgcawu District Municipalitiy

    • !Kheis Local Municipality {Brandboom, Groblershoop}

    • Dawid Kruiper Local Municipality {Mier, Rietfontein, Upington }

    • Kai !Garib Local Municipality {Eksteenskuil, Kakamas, Keimoes, Kenhardt}

    • Kgatelopele Local Municipality {Danielskuil, Lime Acres}

    • Tsantsabane Local Municipality {Beeshoek, Postmasburg}